Why should I forgive and forget?

As We Forgive
Image via Wikipedia
“Unforgiveness is Your Poison for Suicide”

Unforgiveness is a luxury that I cannot afford. I forgive through the help of God. We all know what motivates mankind; it’s reward and punishment, or pleasure and pain. If I am to retain my disciple-ship with Jesus and have every one of my prayers answered I must forgive those who have caused my pain for my own sake.

We are very selfish by nature. God has commanded me to love with ‘all’ my heart, soul and mind so there is no room for hate, unforgiveness or anything negative. I would have to lose or have less of God to have unforgiveness in my life. No one is worth me having less of God. Unforgiveness is a choice just like every other negative emotion. I choose to be IN God, IN His love, IN His promises rather than IN hate, IN unforgiveness, IN any negative emotion or place. Notice how I capitalized ‘IN’ in my dialogue because I wanted to show you how you cannot be in two places at the same time. Meaning if I’m ‘IN God’, I get everything that is ‘IN Him’. If I’m IN anger, IN hate, IN unforgiveness I do not get the things that are ‘IN God’. In short, no one is worth me not getting my stuff, lol… I love you because it benefits me. So, yeah, I love you out of true selfishness… You are me and I am you. Luke 10:27  And he answering said, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy strength, and with all thy mind; and thy neighbour as thyself. Forgiving and forgetting goes hand in hand. You cannot have one without the other. I can drive backwards very well, but it does not work on the freeways. It just does not get me where I want to go. When you don’t forget you are driving backwards, that ‘not forgetting’ is the only thing in your view. YOU have prepared yourself to crash and burn. You have clouded your future with your past and you will never get to your planned destiny ‘IN God’.

John 14:30

Amplified Bible (AMP)

30I will not talk with you much more, for the prince (evil genius, ruler) of the world is coming. And he has no claim on Me. [He has nothing in common with Me; there is nothing in Me that belongs to him, and he has no power over Me.]

Jesus is a forgiving God. I am ‘IN’ Him. John 14:20 says so. How do I forgive? I make a decisions first, then I do it by faith. How? I’m convinced that it is beneficial for me to do so, this is what we call faith (being fully persuaded). Jesus is the author and finisher of my faith. Hebrews 12:2 Jesus is the High Priest of my confession of faith. Hebrews 4:14 So, I verbally declare to God that by faith I forgive that person, place or thing in Jesus Name. This is according to;

Hebrews 11:6

Amplified Bible (AMP)

6But without faith it is impossible to please and be satisfactory to Him. For whoever would come near to God must [necessarily] believe that God exists and that He is the rewarder of those who earnestly and diligently seek Him [out].

If I cannot forgive you then you cannot forgive me and God will not forgive me nor will my prayers be answered. So, I’m taking you to heaven with me because I don’t want to go to hell with you! Much love, Pastor Harris

5 thoughts on “Why should I forgive and forget?

  1. Reblogged this on muchloveblog and commented:

    Sometimes you can hold onto a hurt so long that now you are hurting you. It’s like taking poison to kill someone else and you wind up dead. This is crazy, right? Forgiveness allows you to be set free from what hurt you.

    God is Love, Love conquers and covers it all…
    much love……

    Like

  2. Pingback: I Still Have A Lot To Learn « It Just Dawned On Me

  3. Pingback: The Big Brown Monster in the Room « The Lost Years of Aileen

  4. Pingback: Oh I forgive you, but I’m still going to make you pay. – Redemption's Heart

  5. Pingback: Resurrection’s Reflections | muchloveblog

Leave a Reply

