Overcoming the Greatest Challenge in Your Life… It’s Yourself

Fear is Afraid!
Fear is Afraid!

I have a friend who made a statement regarding his downward spiral at something he wanted real bad in life. As a friend I value the person more than the superficial-make-believe-feel-good-relationship, because I-want-you-to-like-me friendship. You know the kind; they will smile and wave at you while you walk out into traffic and a big Mac truck mows you down because they thought it might offend you if they yelled. Really…really???

I believe as a friend I should treat friends how I want to be treated…yell at me if I need to be yelled at, embrace me if I need to be embraced, you know…’Love Me.’  Well that’s me a 100-percenter. I give it all and I don’t hold back. I love with all of me. So, when I read this friends post about questioning his potential, yea I lit into him; in a Momma kind of way. I had purposed to be on my best behavior, I know I’m a very passionate person. People who love hard are like that. You decide if I went overboard, here is the following conversation.

FRIEND:  I did so bad on my test, I’ve practically messed up this whole semester. That’s me though. I just don’t know why I always do so badly at just about everything starting out.

ME (Loving Momma Friend):  You can always pinpoint where a person is in life by the words they use. You said,’ I just don’t know why I always do so badly at just about everything starting out.’ You more than likely have always repeated this back to yourself over and over.

This is your true-self mantra. This has become your expectation in life so that you gravitate to it. Everyone has one. That little negative report about yourself that you hate. The question is how do you change it? You first have to recognize what it is. In you case it’s fear.

You cannot change what you do not confront or acknowledge. Then accept it. Only through acceptance can you change what you are by replacing it with what you want to be. Why fear? It’s fear of failure. Example – you fall in a hole on purpose. You expected that you would because you always do. Now that you have experienced it (falling in a hole) you are motivated, and even thrilled with the challenge of getting out of it. It cannot stress you any more and drive you to fear again. Now that’s one way to live your life. Here’s another way, create a new self-mantra of what you really want. This is one of the ones that I use in beginning anything in life –

Philippians 4:13
I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who infuses inner strength into me; I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency].

Your expectation ‘now’ is to succeed. Everything good is expected to happen to you, good gravitates to you ‘now.’ You begin to live out what you are expecting, so ‘now’ it really is all good! No, you don’t become lucky, you become blessed!

GOD IS LOVE, LOVE CONQUERS ALL…
Much love,
Pastor Harris

Leave a Reply

