Understanding the Name of God in Psalm 27:4 (PART 1)

GOD

The reason God gave the children of Israel so many names for Himself is because of the varied facets of God. God is so huge that one name cannot represent who He is. For example, a diamond has many facets to its face, and that would be enough, but each facet reflects another facet and then multiple facets, which is where you get the brilliance of the diamond. The brilliance can only be seen from a distance. A jeweler or gemologists will see the true nature of a diamond up close and personal with a special instrument. It reveals in great detail the many facets of the diamond. So, too, do the names of God. God revealed who He was through His many names so that His children would no longer see Him from a distance but know Him up close (as with a personal relationship.)

I was 4yrs old in Sunday school when I was told that we were made in the image of God. I was so overwhelmed with the thought that it occupied my mind constantly. My question to God at that time was how? how? how? I wanted to know! I had to know to understand God better and know God. This was indeed a tall order for me at four. I just could not get it out of my head, which meant I would not leave God alone. (I did not know at that time that God would not leave me alone either.)

I would wake up with that thought and go to bed with that thought and think it all day in between. Just like Peter asking Jesus the question in Matthew 14:28, And Peter answered him and said, Lord, if it be thou, bid me come unto thee on the water. Jesus could not say no, just to save him from experiencing almost being drowned. Jesus had to respond with the positive… the word; ‘come.’ Matthew 14:29 And he said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus. Jesus is the Word and that one Word He spoke sustained Peter . It sustained Peter even when he took his eyes off of Jesus and began to sink.

Well, God answered me with a thought that if I could see every person at the same time I could get a glimpse of Him. So, with my child like mind I refused to pass any person without addressing them and acknowledging them because I was encountering God. I did not have the vocabulary to explain this to my parents. I got in trouble for talking to strangers and my only defense was to reply, ‘I had too.’ If I threw in there that God told me to do that, then I was spanked for lying. But I didn’t care because I had my answer and I was seeing God through His creation in each face that I dared to seek out. My parents saw it as rebellion, but I saw it as a mandate to knowing and experiencing God even at that young age.

I’m a preacher, so it seems to take me a while to get to the point, but in reality, I’m leading you in a train of thinking that Jesus used to explain His Words or Himself. Many will be lost and won’t finish the entire post because they were not meant to hear.

The name, Elohim, the transliteration from the Hebrew is elohiym it’s a masculine noun that is plural for the Godhead. It is the main name of God used throughout Genesis 1 where it first appears. It is used here in Genesis 1 in reference to God being a creator. It is not used in Psalm 27:4 as the word for God.  In English we have one word for God. I believe that is because we are limited in our knowledge and experience of God. When they transcribed the bible from Hebrew they only had one word available, that word being ‘God.’

In the Hebrew language there is no difference between the Word and the real object or person that the word represents. That is why in one name for God the vowels were left out because God’s Name is so Holy, and writing it was no different from God himself being present in their presence and they respected that.

Now, I said all of that for this: Psalm 27:4: (Psalm 27 is my Mom’s favorite and it took me 23yrs for the full revelation of it. She sowed it into my life as a seed.) It is written in the King James Version as:

Psalm 27:4

King James Version (KJV)

One thing have I desired of the Lord, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the Lord, and to enquire in his temple.

 THIS POST WILL BE CONTINUE ON TOMORROW!

GOD IS LOVE, LOVE CONQUERS ALL…
Much love,
Pastor Harris

5 thoughts on “Understanding the Name of God in Psalm 27:4 (PART 1)

  1. Pingback: MY SWEET SURRENDER…INTO THE PRESENCE OF GOD « muchloveblog

  2. Pingback: Put Your Trust In God! Just Trust And Obey! « bummyla

  3. Pingback: Why do bad things happen to good people, and good things happen to bad people? (Part 3) « muchloveblog

  4. Pingback: Vine and Branch World Ministries

  5. Pingback: Understanding the Name of God in Psalm 27:4 (Part 3) « muchloveblog

Leave a Reply

