Using Drugs to Fix Your Life…Addicts and their Addictions

Anonymous Person Before and After Drug Use
Addicts and their addictions; are they really bad people? In today’s varied society you have certainly encountered them…as family, friends, peers in school, coworkers, or leaders in some fashion (political, teachers, corporations, military, doctors, and Yes–priests, pastors, rabbi’s…etc).

What do all these people have in common?  They are people in pain trying to fix their lives with drugs. Pain makes people weak and vulnerable, so they hurt themselves and society. But what is their common denominator?

I was speaking with my daughters’ grandfather; a very strong opinionated man, somewhat angry, but different now. He’s eighty-six years young, going on eighty-seven years. He’s seen a lot of bad things happen that he (knowingly or unknowingly) allowed to mold him into who he was. I believed he had a vow that the bad in life would never break him. We all believe that to some degree… He was telling me and the girls through bouts of sobbing to find happiness somewhere. As he continued sobbing he said he believed that drug addicts were chasing some form of happiness because their lives had become too difficult to live. He reasoned that most bad people became bad by trying to find some sort of happiness in their lives.

This made me think. I was so saddened by the comment that he had made…the cost of happiness was equated to the destruction of a life. You don’t have to kill yourself to feel good. Satan offers you self medication as a quick temporary fix that leads to physical death. Eventually you have to come down from the high and the problem has now become compounded with the addition of drug use. So, now the drug use cannot keep up with the exponential increase of problems arising from the drug use itself. You dig yourself in a hole… a grave! That’s what it boils down to.

Yes, we know that drugs are addictive, but drug users are also addicted to and are chasing a feeling. It is an artificial feeling, a dream that they can never reach or hold on to. It’s false hope, because they did not have real hope which is from God . We are all creatures of choice. Drug users made a choice, (default is a choice made when you refuse to choose) or someone neglected to share the love of God with them. God, who could heal their pain (broken hearts from living life) and give them rewarding hope, was never shared with them. Pain that came from abuse, neglect, disrespect, hatred, rejection and loss overwhelmed them. All these things have to do with the mind, which is in the soul of man. Hope is what anchors a man’s soul. That’s why satan uses the mind of man as his play ground. God is a God of all Hope.

Romans 15:13 New King James Version (NKJV)

Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.
Jesus died and was resurrected to make sure that you would not feel the pain that leads you to search for false hope. He took your pain upon Himself so that you could be pain-free through divine exchange. He took your crappy life so that you could live His Divine Peaceful Life. Look at the verse below:

Isaiah 53:4 Amplified Bible (AMP)

Surely He has borne our griefs (sicknesses, weaknesses, and distresses) and carried our sorrows and pains [of punishment], yet we [ignorantly] considered Him stricken, smitten, and afflicted by God [as if with leprosy].
Emotional health is obtained through God, period. Why? God is the creator that formulated the soul like a chemist. He as the creator took the dust,–a compound of elements, and breathed Himself as Spirit into the dust. The reaction or result of this created a living soul… You!

Genesis 2:7 Amplified Bible (AMP)

 Then the Lord God formed man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath or spirit of life, and man became a living being.
Since God is the creator He has a remedy for the mind, it is a divine remedy.  This remedy is Jesus!

1 Corinthians 2:16 Amplified Bible (AMP)

For who has known or understood the mind (the counsels and purposes) of the Lord so as to guide and instruct Him and give Him knowledge? But we have the mind of Christ (the Messiah) and do hold the thoughts (feelings and purposes) of His heart.
This is why Jesus was manifested as the Word becoming flesh and dwelling among men. Look at the following passages.

1 John 3:8 Amplified Bible (AMP)

 [But] he who commits sin [who practices evildoing] is of the devil [takes his character from the evil one], for the devil has sinned (violated the divine law) from the beginning. The reason the Son of God was made manifest (visible) was to undo (destroy, loosen, and dissolve) the works the devil [has done].

John 1:14 Amplified Bible (AMP)

And the Word (Christ) became flesh (human, incarnate) and tabernacled (fixed His tent of flesh, lived awhile) among us; and we [actually] saw His glory (His honor, His majesty), such glory as an only begotten son receives from his father, full of grace (favor, loving-kindness) and truth.
Below is a testimony from a woman who satan had fooled, and she subsequently began to use drugs. I was so honored and blessed to read her testimony and I know you will be too. Nancy Green, you are a true testimony to the fact that indeed, Jesus lives!!! In her own words the following is Nancy Green’s testimony.
NANCY GREENS PERSONAL TESTIMONY OF GOD’S LOVE

Good Morning Friends and Family. I was just thinking about how tough it was to at first to stay clean and sober…I know that there are a lot of people dealing with Alcohol , Pills,drugs, food whatever the addiction maybe…It’s not going to be easy if your trying to do it on your own ( Nothing is easy) I will say ” At first I didn’t think I could stay clean and sober and I was right! I got on my knees and I prayed like I had never prayed before, I actually prayed from my heart (my soul ) I asked God to help me. I knew I was up against something that I couldn’t defeat. (The Devil) And right at the Moment when I began to pray something came over me. I felt a warm feeling like I had never felt before. I knew then that God had never left me, I had left God. Every since I ASKED God for help and of course I surrendered my everything …I Ms. know it all, My I got this don’t need nobody, I had gave up on God! You gotta believe in something Greater than yourself… Self, is what got me (us) in this situation in the first place. I just want to let people who are struggling with whatever addiction (s) you have your not alone, God has always been with you. God has never left you! I have all the faith in the world that if you really want to get your life back God is there for you. Try God! So far you have tried everything else and nothing is working. Let God work everything out… Before anything in your life starts to change for the better you first have to ask God to come into your life and take over! Without God you are nothing! Have a Better day then you did yesterday. I love you and thanks for reading this and I hope it helped someone today!

GOD IS LOVE, LOVE CONQUERS ALL,

Much Love,
Pastor Harris
Leave a Reply

