Transition of a Son by Death

In the end we all die, what you know determines where you go.

I met a man who asked me to pray for him and his family, their son had just died two weeks earlier. I looked into his eyes and I was instantly caught up into his sorrow. The pain was tremendous, I felt it through my entire body. His grief became my grief and I begin to pray. He thanked me and said I could feel your spirit as tears rolled down his face. I embraced him with the Love of God as he excused himself and left. I could not shake the grief, I had to give it a voice to validate it and this is what I wrote:

My Dear Brother, I’m yet praying for you, your wife and your family. I want you to know that when I held your hands in prayer, I could see into your soul and partake in your pain, sorrow and grief. It was like a tsunami building up that had yet to crash. You’ve heard the words, the clichés, but it’s Jesus who can heal your broken heart. Words at this point are meaningless, only the comfort of the Holy Spirit can strengthen your soul.

 

Luke 4:18 King James Version (KJV) 

The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised,

Isaiah 61:1 Amplified Bible (AMP) 

The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed and qualified me to preach the Gospel of good tidings to the meek, the poor,and afflicted; He has sent me to bind up and heal the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the [physical and spiritual] captives and the opening of the prison and of the eyes to those who are bound,

 

You’re moving but it’s motionless, a fog that takes your breath. The weight upon your chest makes you struggle to purpose each breath. It’s like you’re existing in-between time itself. You are going through the motions, but your heart is torn apart. This atmospheric pressure that is weighting you down so that you are so numb, it’s like you don’t exist at all leaving you void of feelings. Sort of like living life at the bottom of a swimming pool and breathing the very water that constricts your movement–but yet you’re trying to survive.

I said all of this to say, you are seeing and feeling it from grief’s standpoint, not realizing the opportunities embraced by God’s love. That thickness you are feeling as you move through this is God’s Love smothering and enveloping you from the full impact of what has occurred in your life. God is protecting you for the impending crash of emotions that will come. God is that buffering, so that when the true emotion plays out it will not destroy you because of the Peace that He has granted you in His Love.

 

John 14:25-27 The Message (MSG)

“I’m telling you these things while I’m still living with you. The Friend, the Holy Spirit whom the Father will send at my request, will make everything plain to you. He will remind you of all the things I have told you. I’m leaving you well and whole. That’s my parting gift to you. Peace. I don’t leave you the way you’re used to being left—feeling abandoned, bereft. So don’t be upset. Don’t be distraught.

John 14:27 Amplified Bible (AMP)

Peace I leave with you; My [own] peace I now give andbequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.]

 

My Friend, breathe. Breathe in the Love of God that has been shed abroad by the Holy Ghost. There will be more sons to come but never to replace this son, only to show you God’s value in the son you had. Not biological sons, but spiritual sons and daughters that will soften the blow that life has dealt out to you.

 

Romans 5:3-5 The Message (MSG)

There’s more to come: We continue to shout our praise even when we’re hemmed in with troubles, because we know how troubles can develop passionate patience in us, and how that patience in turn forges the tempered steel of virtue, keeping us alert for whatever God will do next. In alert expectancy such as this, we’re never left feeling shortchanged. Quite the contrary—we can’t round up enough containers to hold everything God generously pours into our lives through the Holy Spirit!

Romans 5:5 Amplified Bible (AMP)

Such hope never disappointsor deludes or shames us, for God’s love has been poured out in our hearts through the Holy Spirit Who has been given to us.

 

I speak from a place where you are now, where that same tsunami I thought meant destruction but was just the Love of God waiting to embrace me with Love when my true emotions erupted. I surrendered to the pain and grief that I once thought would destroy me. As that enormous wave fell upon me, I fought and resisted until I could fight no more. It was the sweet surrender as I breathed in the water of what I thought was grief, pain and sorrow. It was a true baptism of God’s Love outside and in me smothering the ‘why?’s and the ‘raw emotions’ that birthed me from the transitioning of my loved ones. I was resurrected with an assurance of the Love of God and the Peace of God within me and upon me.

I never knew Love like this before. I found that I was being carried just like in the physical sense of buoyancy to support you and aid you; the gravity, the weight is now lessened, as in a great body of water. It became my solace, anchoring my soul to the Rock of Christ Jesus. We are truly the body of Christ, and I feel and validate your pain as well as your love for your son. But know this…

 

Psalm 30:5 (AMP)

For His anger is but for a moment, but His favor is for a lifetime or in His favor is life. Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.

Psalm 30:4-5 (MSG)

All you saints! Sing your hearts out to God! Thank him to his face! He gets angry once in a while, but across a lifetime there is only love. The nights of crying your eyes out give way to days of laughter.

Isaiah 61:2-3 Amplified Bible (AMP)

To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord [the year of His favor] and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn, 3 To grant [consolation and joy] to those who mourn in Zion—to give them an ornament (a garland or diadem) of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of joy instead of mourning, the garment [expressive] of praise instead of a heavy, burdened, andfailing spirit—that they may be called oaks of righteousness [lofty, strong, and magnificent, distinguished for uprightness, justice, and right standing with God], the planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified.

 

For your lovely wife here are a few blogs that I wrote that will help her: Death – Eternal Rest- http://wp.me/p1Fdij-9F From Mourning to Dancing…- http://wp.me/p1Fdij-

 

A GOD IS LOVE, LOVE CONQUERS ALL…

Much love,

Pastor Harris

PresenceofGodMinistries@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

