MY SWEET SURRENDER…INTO THE PRESENCE OF GOD

When looking for peace, it can only be found in Jesus!

This is my personal journey of how I entered and remained in the Presence of God. I haven’t decided if it will one day be a just a blog or a book, so here it is… walk with me now. I began my journey at the ripe old age of four. I was in Sunday school and I would try to listen, but my personality just would not allow it. I was a busy happy child, full of life. There were eight of us kids. I remember that in order to  get my personal time with my parents I would have to press in.

This is what I mean by pressing in. My Mom would rise at 5:30 am – 6:00 am so, I would get up to help her. She was very busy in the mornings. It’s funny how she was able to do all that work without appliances. I’m showing my age because back then there were not very many appliances out there to help her out. I would hear her in the kitchen and jump up, fall out of the bed making a big boom. I know she would be shaking her head, but I was clumsy. Getting there was more important than how I got there. My body was growing faster than my ability to control myself.

I would carefully get dressed and trip down most of the stairs bruising and hurting myself, yet not feeling the pain. I only had one focus, to be the first one with Mom and to spend that hour with her before the others woke up. There was peace, quiet and answers to my unending questions. It was a relationship… I felt and understood her as a loving mother from her deeds, but I knew and experienced her through her thoughtful conversations. She poured herself into me, her thoughts, intents, pursuits and the essence of her being…God. I made time to be alone with her…

This blessed training of pursuing a relationship with my parents; yes, with my Dad as well. My Father worked sixteen hours a day in a steel mill and return to us thoroughly worn out. He would take long baths and fall asleep in the tub. I remember banging on the bathroom door to come in and use the bathroom because I had to go NOW! It was my personality. I had played up to the last second and there was no way I was going to make it down two flights of stairs to the basement to relieve myself. I was about three years old. Dad sighed and responded “Come on in and hurry up.” He would wring his face cloth out and place it over his face. I remember asking him why and he said, “Oh, Daddy just likes it like that baby.” Years later, I realized he did that so he wouldn’t hurt my feelings by saying I had smelled up the room.

I normally stuttered very bad, but not when I was with my Dad. He was easy to talk to. I’d sit on the commode talking to him till he fell asleep or pretended to fall asleep. He was good at both, but it never deterred me. I don’t remember him ever hollering at me, except to call me. He was the disciplinarian, Mom would say, ‘Just wait till your Father gets home.’ He was a giant of a man in my eye’s, (actually he was five foot ten inches tall.) He would talk to you before he spanked you. He believed if he could reason with you, then maybe he wouldn’t have to spank you. The talks were great, I just couldn’t focus on them long enough to remember them and the spankings were shorter than the talks. And I believed the talks made him happier than me, so spankings were short, quick and to the point and I chose them sometimes over the long talks.

I said all of that to share with you the persistence I had as a child for a relationship with the ones I dearly loved. I lived in a home with ten people and my parents were constantly in motion. God is always available and we are the ones in constant motion. Jesus said come to Him like a child. A child is focused on what they want. They can be tenacious little creatures.

Mark 10:13-16 The Message (MSG)

The people brought children to Jesus, hoping he might touch them. The disciples shooed them off. But Jesus was irate and let them know it: “Don’t push these children away. Don’t ever get between them and me. These children are at the very center of life in the kingdom. Mark this: Unless you accept God’s kingdom in the simplicity of a child, you’ll never get in.” Then, gathering the children up in his arms, he laid his hands of blessing on them.

So, in your quest for God you have to first choose God and believe that He is God. Look at the following verse:

Hebrews 11:5-6 The Message (MSG)

By an act of faith, Enoch skipped death completely. “They looked all over and couldn’t find him because God had taken him.” We know on the basis of reliable testimony that before he was taken “he pleased God.” It’s impossible to please God apart from faith. And why? Because anyone who wants to approach God must believe both that he exists and that he cares enough to respond to those who seek him.
I knew from sunday school that God was real. Children will believe without doubt. Just like they really believe in Santa Claus, the tooth fairy and etc… Children are free from doubt. Disappointments later in life give rise to doubts.
Secondly I rose up early to be with my Mom. I didn’t allow the comfort of the bed to deter what I loved and wanted. I was more than words I was action. I didn’t let my parents lifestyle stop me either I PRESSED IN. I was flexible, creative and an opportunist in carving out time– my time to be with the ones I loved. That is how we have to be with God. We should press in daily, being tenacious about it. We ought to be seeking every opportunity to be with the One we love.
Thirdly, God wants it as much as you do. God wants and waits for the relationship with you. My parents wanted that relationship with me just as much as I did. I was well received with them just like God has welcomed you as his beloved.
TO BE CONTINUED
GOD IS LOVE, LOVE CONQUERS ALL,
Much Love,
Pastor EuGenia Harris
2 thoughts on “MY SWEET SURRENDER…INTO THE PRESENCE OF GOD

  1. Pingback: Mom; FOCUS!! « Thoughts from the Porch

  2. Pingback: Baby Girl « muchloveblog

Leave a Reply

