MY SWEET SURRENDER…INTO THE PRESENCE OF GOD (Part 3)

So far in the previous blogs we have talked about ‘pressing in’ and ‘desiring a real relationship’ with God to be in God’s Presence. God has given us a free will, the ability to choose and commit to someone or something. This ability is God inspired because God made us in His image. We can choose to be any where in the world and how we get there is dependent on us. What does that mean? Well, to be in God’s Presence you have to make a choice and commit to that choice. That means you don’t fit God into your schedule; He won’t fit, He is too great. He is an infinite God and you have a finite mind and schedule. So, what do you do? SURRENDER!!! Your life, your schedule, and your tim– you put all three in God because He can handle it. Remember He is infinite and you are finite.

I have tried scheduling time with God and varying the time and it just did not work. The harder I tried the worst it was. Then I realize if I gave it all to God I would never miss a beat. That’s what I did. I focused on the totality of my life being for God and in God. Every breath, every step, and every thought was directed to God so that God could direct me. It was just like Moses in Exodus 33:13-23. Moses knew that he had a great task ahead of him, and he knew he could not do it by himself. Moses knew he needed help so he turned his all to God every step of the way.

Exodus 33:13-23 Amplified Bible (AMP) 13 Now therefore, I pray You, if I have found favor in Your sight, show me now Your way, that I may know You [progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with You, perceiving and recognizing and understanding more strongly and clearly] and that I may find favor in Your sight. And [Lord, do] consider that this nation is Your people. 14 And the Lord said, My Presence shall go with you, and I will give you rest. 15 And Moses said to the Lord, If Your Presence does not go with me, do not carry us up from here! 16 For by what shall it be known that I and Your people have found favor in Your sight? Is it not in Your going with us so that we are distinguished, I and Your people, from all the other people upon the face of the earth? 17 And the Lord said to Moses, I will do this thing also that you have asked, for you have found favor, loving-kindness,and mercy in My sight and I know you personally and by name. 18 And Moses said, I beseech You, show me Your glory. 19 And God said, I will make all My goodness pass before you, and I will proclaim My name, The Lord, before you; for I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will show mercy and loving-kindness on whom I will show mercy and loving-kindness.

You see in God’s Presence is rest. Rest is where you cease to do your own work. I couldn’t make it happen, the task was too great for me so I had to let God have it all. God had a place for me in Him already. All that was left for me to do was to acknowledge it, and accept it. Accept means simply to stop fighting for my way of doing it.

Ephesians 1:3-6 Amplified Bible (AMP) May blessing (praise, laudation, and eulogy) be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ (the Messiah) Who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual (given by the Holy Spirit) blessing in the heavenly realm! Even as [in His love] He chose us [actually picked us out for Himself as His own] in Christ before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy (consecrated and set apart for Him) and blameless in His sight, even above reproach, before Him in love. For He foreordained us (destined us, planned in love for us) to be adopted (revealed) as His own children through Jesus Christ, in accordance with the purpose of His will [because it pleased Him and was His kind intent]— [So that we might be] to the praise and the commendation of His glorious grace (favor and mercy), which He so freely bestowed on us in the Beloved.

You know how we make our own plans and try to squeeze God in it. God’s plan was for you and I to always be in Him in His Presence. Our rebellion to live life the way we want to contradict this divine plan. All we have to do is return back to God. The bible calls it repenting. Remember we have ‘free will.’ We have to choose to give our ‘free will’ over to God. When we do this we become infinite just like God. God does not limit us within Himself; we will have all of God just like He has all of us. This is why we are at rest; there is no work in God. My commitment to the decision (giving my ‘free will’ over to God) keeps me in God.  I am the only one who can take me out of God… no one else but me. So when I enter into His Presence I also enter into His rest.

This is also found in the New Testament in Hebrews 4:1-3:

Hebrews 4:1-3 Amplified Bible (AMP) Therefore, while the promise of entering His rest still holds and is offered [today], let us be afraid [to distrust it], lest any of you should think he has come too late and has come short of [reaching] it. For indeed we have had the glad tidings [Gospel of God] proclaimed to us just as truly as they [the Israelites of old did when the good news of deliverance from bondage came to them]; but the message they heard did not benefit them, because it was not mixed with faith (with the leaning of the entire personality on God in absolute trust and confidence in His power, wisdom, and goodness) by those who heard it; neither were they united in faith with the ones [Joshua and Caleb] who heard (did believe). For we who have believed (adhered to and trusted in and relied on God) do enter that rest, in accordance with His declaration that those [who did not believe] should not enter when He said, As I swore in My wrath, They shall not enter My rest; and this He said although [His] works had been completed and prepared [and waiting for all who would believe] from the foundation of the world.  

GOD IS LOVE, LOVE CONQUERS ALL,

Much Love,

Pastor Harris

One thought on “MY SWEET SURRENDER…INTO THE PRESENCE OF GOD (Part 3)

  1. Pingback: Press in—Finding Your Secret Place in God | MAJESTIC PUBLISHING & WRITING MINISTRY

Leave a Reply

