From My Heart to Yours: Families Are Like Thrift Shops

I was in a thrift shop and it reminded me of family. You can find whatever you need if you look hard and long enough. You will find a lot of useful, broken and sometimes-dangerous stuff hidden among the bad and the good. To some it may look like a lot of junk in there. But to others it’s a hidden treasure chest. Damaged treasures, but still treasures to the loving eye.

Can you drink from this cup?
Can you drink from this cup?

A beautiful, handcrafted, cracked, bone china teacup that only a loving collectors eye will see. Its days of trusting it to hold anything liquid are gone. But you can still see the beauty and the time it took to craft such a beautiful cup. Was it cracked in a fall? Or maybe its contents were too hot and someone plunged it into cold too quickly causing it to crack. Maybe a playful toddler knocked it off the shelf.

I don’t know how it got all messed up and cracked but the potter put his best into its creation. Maybe that’s what I see when I see the fine, bone china, teacup who has lost it’s purpose to hold anything. If I filled it with liquid and tried to drink from it, it would cut my lip, the contents would spell down my chin and upon my clothes…

This was not the potter’s intention. Someone has hurt his creation and caused it to be flawed in its beauty. Maybe that’s why I like it. It reminds me of my hidden cracks that only I can see. The hidden cracks mended by the potter’s love that He has hidden from the world so that they cannot break me any more. Now I can pour out the potter’s love into this broken china teacup. And what the potter did for me he can do for the one time precious teacup too.

Much love

1 John 4:7-8 King James Version (KJV)

 Beloved, let us love one another: for love is of God; and every one that loveth is born of God, and knoweth God.

He that loveth not knoweth not God; for God is love.

2 thoughts on “From My Heart to Yours: Families Are Like Thrift Shops

Leave a Reply

