God’s Remnant…Never A Majority…A Ram In The Bush… My Friend Tom (2)

I would like to introduce you to my friend Tom Muller. He is a great guy. What makes him great? His heart, his love for people and his sincerity with that love toward those that don’t look like him. He has a heart of gold. I have not censored his writing to do so would be an injustice to his soul.

tom
Keep smiling…

Here’s TOM…

This one is going to be long, very long. I am not even sure if Facebook will allow it to post. But I am asking that you take a few minutes to read this sometime this week. I want to go back to writing jokes but I need to get this off my chest first. I have friends who need to hear a lot of this being said and I am going to speak up for them. They need to know that people still care about them. They need to know that I and others are not going to sit back and watch their lives be pushed aside yet again. I am not going to pretend that this election has not put a whole lot of my friends in danger. It has. It really fucking has.

I stayed up very late last night trying to process this election. I think I was in shock about how much I wasn’t in shock. I’ve seen and felt this bitter white storm brewing for a long while now. Well, here it is. I thought that on Election Day I had overreacted and that our country would rise up and do not the right thing but at least the best thing given the circumstances. We didn’t.

This write up is not going to be properly framed. I’m not going to ask questions and talk about things carefully. I’m going to make what most people will consider broad sweeping generalizations when they hit them and hard hitting truths when they hit others. This piece should have something in it to piss off each and every one of you reading it. It is pissing me off writing it, so we’re even. I am writing this because I truly want to help us. I believe that you and I are connected. Anything I do that that hurts you, hurts me. Anything I do that hurts me, hurts you too. We all live, love, and hurt together whether we think so or not. We are all connected. So this is as much me talking to various versions of myself as it is to you. I am not perfect. I have most certainly played a role in all of these issues I am about to talk through. I am taking ownership of everything in this. I am 100% part of these problems too.

As you read this and get uncomfortable, I am asking you, as a friend, to keep reading. I might be wrong. Hell, I am wrong more than most people I have ever met. Being wrong so often has helped me keep learning and growing so I’m not going to stop now. However, here and there, I am right. I called a whole lot of what was unfolding over these past 18 months. Unfortunately, I saved my major wrong for the end where I tried to pick the winner out of two losers.

I think it is time for some honesty all around. A lot of this honesty is not going to be nice. It is going to seem like I am trying to break us all into groups and divide us when the truth is, WE ARE ALREADY DIVIDED. We need to stop calling everybody else divisive if they speak up about their problems. Talking about racism IS NOT RACISM. We need to quit trying to make every damn thing about ourselves. Shut up and listen. Treat them as a fellow human being instead of only listening long enough to decide which bucket to callously throw them into. Give people a minute to get through their thoughts. We all have that minute. We waste years and years, generations and generations, fucking people over because we all refuse to take a minute here and there to hear each other out. This has to stop and it has to stop right now. People’s lives are being ruined. They are not getting a fair shake because we don’t want to break up our routine. We need to break out of this and show a damn sense of urgency before it is too late.

TO BE CONTINUED…

 

Leave a Reply

